LITTLE RED LIE’S WILL O’NEILL

I spoke with Will O’Neill, writer and director of Little Red Lie and Actual Sunlight, about his work and the condition of modern videogames.

Little Red Lie is one of the most compelling games of 2017 so far. For reasons outlined in this review, it comes recommended, and is available here.

One thought on “LITTLE RED LIE’S WILL O’NEILL

  1. For me (who doesn’t like the games, and so doesn’t play them) I wonder about the mode of presentation. There’s Little Red Lie that is ostensibly a JRPG. And here ( https://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2017/08/the-cultural-and-personal-legacy-of-gone-home.html ) Ed lauds Gone Home, which to me seems like a paper thin first-person clicky, pokey thing.

    Am I missing something? I feel like I can’t look past the veneer. Or can’t be bother too. It feels unearned to to me. Because in this link it’s said there are no onscreen characters, I can only assume that is more a compromise than by design. People do not want to grapple with the technology itself. They flat refuse to as far I can see. So they can’t make compelling images of people. And they can’t put the story in a frame that does justice to it. Even if there’s something there, and we’re not just handing out participation trophies.

    In the commercial sector, 3D technology is very fragile and ham handed. All of the tools people use to make video games are hand me downs from the war chests of big companies, or the odd hideous thing like Unity that just works. In fairness to Will, RPG Maker is probably one of the most mature tools and resource trove that’s out there. But what does that say about us? There’s something to be said for noncommercial activity. It seems to me like on top of a movement to deal with widespread poverty of both time and means that there has to be a more serious movement about developing digital art resources in a way that is separate from commercial enterprise. Until that project is taken seriously, no amount of disappointment gets a surprise out of me.

    P.S. I very much recommend life without money or broadly deception (on point.) You can completely live very comfortably for about $10 a day. Which can be for many families the allowance of a child. Sometimes if it’s that or a life of servitude with zero time to pursue higher ideals; what’s the shame?

    Like

Leave a Reply

